I’ve Stepped Out on My Love for Pinterest.

This confession is pretty serious if you’re a teacher and a mom. So many of us love this site. There are times where I have used it so consistently, I seriously wondered if I had an original thought in my head. I use several sites to aggregate data and ideas, but Pinterest is what I use most often. When I first began to use a bookmarking website like this, I just willy nilly pinned anything and everything I thought was interesting. Later, I began to pin within more specific categories. A “board” for outfits wouldn’t cut it anymore. I need to create boards for each season to organize. A board for school was overflowing with ideas, so I created boards that were organized by subject area.


 

Here’s an example of a section of boards I’ve created to pin information. Teachers, notice the blank board for the PARCC standardized test…can’t bring myself to pin to it!

pinterest


 

I do use Pinterest as an idea generator for so many things. I find ideas for outfits, crafts, school, recipes, and baby/child resources. With that being said, I’m not a crazy Pinterest user. There are people who have thousands and thousands of pins, which I feel can become too much, very quickly. Too many bookmarks, pins, labels, and you become lost in a sea of well aggregated, but overwhelming resources. What really began to frustrate me with Pinterest was constant spam, lackluster mobile capabilities, and bad links. What is the point of bookmarking and storing an idea, if the picture or infographic leads to no where? Having to check if links were still real, live, and not spam was getting tiresome. The internet is well…the internet, so I know some sites and posts becoming unavailable is inevitable, I just found that I ran into it too often.Pins that don’t have a permalink attached?! Maddening. I don’t think anyone likes to click on a great picture or recipe and be taken to a homepage where you’d have to dig for a few hours. As a result of some of these frustrations, I started to use the tool as more of a visual reminder versus actually storing readable information that was possible to go back to.

I went into so much detail about Pinterest, because I feel like (at least among people I know), that is by far the most commonly used curation tool.While I do like Pinterest, for a while I haven’t been as avid of a user as I once was. As a result, I decided to explore another potential curation tool. I had a little bit of experience with Flipboard, but wasn’ t that into it. I decided to try to use Scoop.It. The magazine I began to put together about Genius Hour/20 time can be found here. I decided to start collecting information about Genius Hour/20 time because I am very interested in the idea, but I’m not very familiar with it. I have posted and explored a lot of good ideas to start with. I found some great things already added to Scoop.It to add to my list, and I found some great resources on my own. I was able to add information about the topic as well as personal teacher accounts and experiences with the topic. Scoop.It as a magazine tool looks appealing, where a sites pictures and thumbnails present well. It is very easy to add content, and to comment on content. In addition to ease of use and an appealing look, it seems that users have posted a lot of academic content. Content of substance, and links that bring you to actual articles and opinions have made the site very useful for me. Pinterest provided me with a lot of ideas, but often a lot less information. Academic articles and informational pieces are much harder to find there. This is a large part of what attracted me to use Scoop.It for our project. From boards I’ve looked through, I came across a lot of other teachers as well as those in tech. It seems like a great platform to build on for my professional life.


 

Here is an example of features you can use on Scoop.it. It has been very user friendly. 

piccc


 

So far, I have found success with Scoop.It as a curation tool. I looked through some others on the list that look interesting, but ease of use has Scoop.It working for me right now!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “I’ve Stepped Out on My Love for Pinterest.

  1. Erin,
    I admire your bravery is stepping away from Pinterest. It was hard for me to do, too! I do was pretty obsessed with pinning anything and everything when I first started using it. Then I quickly realized how fun it was to have boards and organize my pins…sounds very OCD of me, but it fits! When choosing a tool for this project, I wanted so much to use Pinterest, but it didn’t work! And honestly, I think it was a blessing in disguise. It forced me to find an alternative. I did try Scoop.It, but I didn’t care for it. It frustrated me from the beginning and I just ran away from it. I did end up using Flipboard and am enjoying that experience. I’d love to know what features of Scoop.It are the best!

    • I have heard a lot of great things about Flipboard, and I hope if I got used to it, I’d like it as a curation tool. Don’t get me wrong, though I might not use Pinterest as much as I used to, I still use it for a lot of things!

  2. Erin,

    As a guy I feel like I need to keep my Pinterest obsession to myself. I primarily do all the cooking for my wife and I, so Pinterest is amazing. Especially since she has Celiac disease and needs a gluten free diet. However, I quickly learned Pinterest is not only for food. I’ve pinned woodworking projects, workouts and much more. I think it is a great tool to help with collaboration. I felt like I was taking the easy way out at first but then I realized that I really don’t use it for education so I would like to give it a try. Good luck and happy pinning.

    Dan

    • I once read that 70% of Pinterest users are female, but I think it has quite a bit to offer men! My husband also does all our cooking, and he could probably get some really great ideas from it. I tried to get him going, but it was short lived. I should try again…I might get some good dinners out of it!

  3. Hello Erin,

    I saw more than enough Pintrest last year…we were getting a nursery ready. It seemed my wife had more items Pinned than I knew existed. Every day she found a new idea and was comparing to a previous one. I learned to become the grunt laborer and stick to running new electrical lines, refinishing the floor, painting, drilling, etc. She picked the decor and it worked out great.

    It is good to step out of your comfort zone and try a new version of a product you like. Even if you like the new one better do you move away from the old one you have invested so much time and energy into?

    • So true! I totally hear your wife on that one…we worked on a new nursery last year, too! Luckily my husband also rolled with looking at all the pictures, and then he worked on it with/for me! I do find it useful for just looking at pictures and idea generating. It’s format lends itself to easy visual cues and ideas just by scrolling and pinning pictures without even clicking. I think for academic puposes, or for research and readings, Scoop.it is a better option for me. Daily life and for interacting with family and friends (because they already share boards with me), Pinterest is easier.

  4. I do like Scoopit, and have used it in the past. It’s funny, but I tend to only bookmark items when they come to me via Twitter. Even though I have three “Scoops” which I continue to keep up with, I never actually look at any of what is shared via Scoopit… which is crazy! Although I have shared Scoopit with students, who’ve been successful using it to find resources on current issues. The good part is that it’s searchable without signing up for the service, (unless that’s changed?). Pinterest, which often comes to the top of students’ google search hit list, requires account creation to search, but reads, “any use or access by anyone under the age of 13 is prohibited”.

    • Interesting! I didn’t even know that about Pinterest. It makes sense based on what kind of content is easily accessible. A great thing to think about if you’re intending to use it with lower grade levels!

  5. I liked using Scoopit as well. I found it very easy to use and I liked how the articles and such popped up for you as soon as your typed in keywords. I agree with the whole Pinterest thing. I have an account and have many boards, but I hardly ever go on there unless it’s something for school. I can’t wait to see what you have found on Genius Hour because that’s my topic too. Best of luck.

    • Oh, great! I was hoping to find a topic of my own to explore, but I kept going back to the list we had to work from, and felt I didn’t have much experience with those topics…which made them good to research!

Leave a Reply

