Spotlight on Strategies

Spotlight on Strategies – Jigsaw

The strategy I chose to discuss and present was the Jigsaw strategy. The goal of the Jigsaw is to allow cooperative group work, but with individual students still needing to maintain personal responsibility for their work and learning due to the way the activity is designed. It’s a great way to introduce information, activate prior knowledge, review, and have fun. It can be used across subject areas and in so many different ways. I challenged other teachers to use this strategy in their own classrooms. It’s not the easiest activity to organize, but it can be so worth it! It also requires a lot of monitoring by the instructor, especially in elementary school settings. In order to make sure all the students are participating and that they are reading, researching, or discussing the correct idea or topic. The activity provides a great opportunity for small group, individual participation, and whole group interactions.

The use of digital media in my flyer is there to aid in the lesson example I created. The pictures and videos I chose for the example lesson are important to use in our whole group discussion. They provide examples for students to look at that are teacher chosen, unlike the material they will see in their group work. In order to reinforce the concepts, I chose examples I liked for rural, urban, and suburban communities. I also chose a short video to present to my students so that they had another visual example of what the three communities are like. Our textbook has very few examples in it, so I wanted to incorporate digital media elements to help student understanding of the concept.

I also included resources in my “challenge” that might be useful to other educators when trying to create a lesson or activity with the jigsaw strategy. I included an example video and a easy steps list into the “challenge” category on my flyer. Without ever seeing or reading about the jigsaw strategy before, it might sound a little confusing. I thought by adding some extra examples, it might help make the process a little bit easier to understand!

Leave a Reply

